Smoked Salmon Appetizer

Whenever I am taking something to a gathering, the first thought that pops into my head is logistics. How the food will travel, does it need reheating, does it need to be assembled, how many people do I need to serve. The decision of what to take is invariably narrowed down drastically once these factors are determined. If it’s a gathering where I can’t reheat what I’m taking (or if I don’t want to add to the craziness of an event), then that cuts out half the appetisers in my repertoire. If I don’t want to bother with assembling little crostinis or similar gorgeous, delicious but fiddly things, then that chops out another good chunk of finger food recipes I regularly use. Ever assembled 50 smoked salmon blinis before? No? It’s a pain. I want to be chatting to my friends, not using tweezers to assemble gorgeous little appetisers that people inhale in one bite! So this smoked salmon appetizer solves a bunch of my party food logistical challenges. Easy to transport. No fiddly assembly. They’re served at room temperature. And they taste SO GOOD!

PS Yes, the recipe says it makes 49 and yes you can only count 45 in the photo above. You know what happened to the missing 4. I totally cheat with this recipe. It was inspired by an appetiser I had at a professionally catered event and it was made with crepes. I make mine with flatbreads or soft tortillas. Honestly, I promise you, it is just as good – and saves tons of time.

Am I weird for thinking this smoked salmon appetizer is quite elegant? This really is the sort of food I would proudly serve at a dinner party! I very deliberately waited until I had a gathering at my place before I made these because this is the sort of food that I have difficulty controlling myself around. So I actually asked my mother to organise her weekly golf day at a course near my house, just so I could invite her and her friends around for wine and taste testing after golf! They gave these Smoked Salmon Bites and Dorothy’s Moist Apple Cake a VERY big thumbs up. I got plenty of constructive feedback on another appetiser I tried out and am working on it! 😉 – Nagi x

More cocktail food for parties

Cheeseburger Party Meatballs Cocktail Meatballs Spinach Ricotta Rolls or Puffs Ham and Cheese Puffs Sausage Rolls Chorizo Bites in Sweet & Sour Sauce Coconut Shrimp / Prawns with Thai Mango Dipping Sauce Truly Crispy Baked Wings – or Buffalo Wings See all Dip Recipes, all Party Food and the Top 25 Party Foods!

PS My mother texted me on the 8th hole (they only play 9 holes) which is when I decided to make Dorothy’s Easiest Ever Moist Apple Cake. I had it in the oven and baking when they walked in the door. It is that fast! PPS I’m fully aware that I’m swinging between “appetiser” and “appetizer”. US vs Aus spelling – auto correct is killing me!

More smoked salmon recipes

Smoked Salmon Dip – the dip version of the smoked salmon spread Smoked Salmon and Egg Breakfast Mille-feuille Smoked Salmon Potato Rosti Stack Salmon Quiche

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Smoked Salmon Appetiser cooking video! Dozer fans – don’t miss his cameo at the end! 😉

LIFE OF DOZER

Dozer! Shame on you – some modesty please!!!

SaveSave SaveSave

Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 16Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 52Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 90Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 74Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 18Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 55Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 35Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites - 48